Little Red, Autumn on the Farm (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Little Red, Autumn on the Farm By Will Hillenbrand Cover Image
$18.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the Little Red series.

Description


Little Red—a heroic pickup truck who can fix anything—is determined to help his many truck friends in this autumn-themed seasonal follow up to Little Red, perfect for fans of The Leaf Thief

"Not only an appealing tribute to fall, this sweet, simple story is about friendly cooperation and kindness…. Truck mavens will ‘fall’ for this seasonal homage." —Kirkus Reviews

The Shady Acre community is getting ready for the harvest festival, and there’s lots to do to prepare for it. All the trucks have important jobs—but there are many in need of repair. No worries—just call on Little Red to help, and in the nick of time too!

This preschool offering features trucks of all sizes: Quick Silver Combine, Purple Seeder, Blue Tractor, Green Bandwagon, Yellow Donut Truck, and Orange Hay Ride and reinforces the colors in the color wheel (truck-coded) as well as the colors of autumn. 

About the Author


Will Hillenbrand is the creator of Little Red—which The Wall Street Journal called "a sweet yuletide story" and School Library Journal hailed as "a fun story that introduces vocabulary and colors, packaged in a holiday adventure"—as well as Snowman’s StoryDown by the Station, and The Voice in the Hollow. He has also illustrated many beloved picture books, including The Biggest, Best Snowman and Snow Friends, both by Margery Cuyler. He lives in Cincinnati, Ohio.

Praise For…


Praise for Little Red, Autumn on the Farm:

"That ever-obliging truck returns. This time, Little Red and driver Katie, introduced in the Christmas-themed Little Red, help friends on a fall day…. Not only an appealing tribute to fall, this sweet, simple story is about friendly cooperation and kindness. Delightful digital illustrations pay vivid homage to seasonal foliage, colors, and Halloween…. Truck mavens will 'fall' for this seasonal homage."Kirkus Reviews

Praise for Little Red:

"Very small motor enthusiasts are the ones to relish Will Hillenbrand’s sweet Yuletide story, which features an eponymous pickup truck with expressive eyes driven by a resourceful woman named Katie. Soon come anxious calls from vehicles in distress. Katie and her truck give assistance to each until all the vehicles converge, their colors glowing like a string of Christmas lights, and everyone delights in the cargo that Little Red has been carrying."—The Wall Street Journal

"Even during a snowfall, Little Red Truck and driver Katie work and make repairs. One after another, six brightly colored vehicles in need stop them, imploring, 'Help, Little Red, help!'…. Readers will appreciate the 90-degree book turn required near the end showing the raised tree festooned with bulbs by eager kids.... A warm Christmas read and a reminder of the best gifts: friendship, kindness, helpfulness, and cooperation."—Kirkus

"Little Red, a peppy pickup truck, and driver Katie, deliver true holiday spirit and a special gift to a small town’s residents in a celebratory early concept book with plotting reminiscent of Katy and the Big Snow…Colors, cumulative counting, and cute hardworking vehicles are all part of a day that Little Red calls 'Jolly fun! '"—Publishers Weekly

"For young truck fans, this seasonal picture book has plenty to offer, from the work ethic of this determined pickup and its capable driver to the wintry setting with a nod to (but no mention of) Christmas. The narrative makes good use of repeated phrases, and children will happily chime in. A visually appealing picture book that’s fun for reading aloud."—Booklist

"Cheerful pick-up truck Little Red and his intrepid driver Katie are known throughout Tiny Town as the ones to call in a jam…. A satisfyingly seasonal penultimate stop leads to an effectively foreshadowed big-reveal conclusion (including a vertical book-turn). There are so many details to love, from the text’s patterned repetition to the digital illustrations’ unique personality-filled vehicles to the color-coded speech bubbles and sound effects. Many 'thanks to Little Red and Katie,' indeed."—Horn Book

"A fun story that introduces vocabulary and colors, packaged in a holiday adventure…. With a winning combination of vehicles and Santa Claus, this lively holiday story is recommended for public and preschool libraries."—School Library Journal


Product Details
ISBN: 9780316571647
ISBN-10: 0316571644
Publisher: Christy Ottaviano Books
Publication Date: September 3rd, 2024
Pages: 40
Language: English
Series: Little Red